VIRTUAL EVENT: Streaming | Penumbral Lunar Eclipse | Full Buck Moon 2020 - July 4 at 8pm Pacific from Lowell Observatory | Kids Out and About St. Louis

VIRTUAL EVENT: Streaming | Penumbral Lunar Eclipse | Full Buck Moon 2020 - July 4 at 8pm Pacific from Lowell Observatory


*The event has already taken place on this date: Sat, 07/04/2020
Fireworks aren’t the only light show on July 4th. Shortly after sunset, the Full Buck Moon (a traditional name for July’s Full Moon) will pass through the outermost portion of the Earth’s shadow, a subtle event called a penumbral lunar eclipse. Join Lowell Observatory educators at the Giovale Open Deck Observatory at 8pm AZ/PT on Saturday, July 4, 2020, for a live stream of this penumbral lunar eclipse.

While the Moon is progressing through the eclipse, we’ll also conduct an Interactive Stargazing session, showcasing some celestial objects and then letting viewers choose which objects to see via YouTube’s chat function.

Moonrise in Flagstaff is at 7:41pm PDT, and sunset is at 7:44pm. The penumbral lunar eclipse begins at 8:07pm PDT and ends at 10:52pm. Maximum eclipse is at 9:29:51pm.

Click here to get to Lowell Observatory's YouTube Channel

a few minutes before 11pm EDT / 10pm CDT / 9pm MDT / 8pm PDT / 7pm AKDT


*Times, dates, and prices of any activity posted to our calendars are subject to change. Please be sure to click through directly to the organization’s website to verify.

Location:

ONLINE ONLY
Online
Online, NY, .
United States

Phone:

928/774/3358
Contact name: 
Heather Craig
Email address: 
The event has already taken place on this date: 
07/04/2020
Time: 
11pm EDT / 10pm CDT / 9pm MDT / 8pm PDT / 7pm AKDT
Price: 
FREE

Ages

6-8 years 9-12 years Teenagers Adults & kids together Adults without kids